Displaying items by tag: ACS Director Magnus Johannesson

Three Arctic countries ministers will meet in Tromsoe, Norway, today to officially open the new Arctic Council Secretariat: Norwegian and Swedish Foreign Affairs Ministers Espen Barth Eide and Carl Bildt, respectively, and Leona Aglukkaq who is Canadian Minister of Health and newly appointed Minister of the Arctic Council.

The Tromsoe visit marks the culmination of Ms. Aglukkaq’s tour of the Nordic countries initiated last week with her visit to Iceland on Tuesday, followed by visits to Denmark, Finland and Sweden.

Ms. Aglukkaq is introducing herself as the head of the incoming Canadian Chairmanship and outlining the policy that Canada will strive to implement during its 2 year-term.

Published in All News

Arctic Council Indigenous Peoples' Secretariat
Fram Centre, Postboks 6606 Langnes, NO-9296 Tromsø, Norway